THE FLORIDA LEGISLATURE





April 27, 2021

The Honorable Wilton Simpson President of the Senate

The Honorable Chris Sprowls Speaker, House of Representatives

Dear Mr. President and Mr. Speaker:

Your Conference Committee on the disagreeing votes of the two houses on HB 5601, same being:

An act relating to Higher Education.

having met, and after full and free conference, do recommend to their respective houses as follows:

- 1. That the Senate recede from its Amendment 681882.
- 2. That the Senate and House of Representatives adopt the Conference Committee Amendment attached hereto, and by reference made a part of this report.

Senator Kelli Stargel, Chair	Senator Ben Albritton
Senator Loranne Ausley	Senator Dennis Baxley
Senator Aaron Bean, At Large	Senator Lori Berman
Senator Lauren Book, At Large	Senator Jim Boyd
Senator Randolph Bracy	Senator Jennifer Bradley
Senator Jeff Brandes	Senator Jason Brodeur
Senator Doug Broxson	Senator Danny Burgess
Senator Janet Cruz	Senator Manny Diaz Jr.
Senator Gary M. Farmer Jr., At Large	Senator George B. Gainer
Senator Ileana Garcia	Senator Audrey Gibson, At Large
Senator Joe Gruters	Senator Gayle Harrell
Senator Ed Hooper	Senator Travis Hutson
Senator Shevrin D. Jones	Senator Debbie Mayfield, At Large
Senator Kathleen Passidomo, At Large	Senator Keith Perry, At Large
Senator Jason W. B. Pizzo	Senator Tina Scott Polsky
Senator Bobby Powell	Senator Ray Wesley Rodrigues
Senator Ana Maria Rodriguez	Senator Darryl Ervin Rouson, At Large
Senator Linda Stewart	Senator Annette Taddeo

The Honorable Wilton Simpson The Honorable Chris Sprowls April 27, 2021 Page 3		
Senator Perry E. Thurston Jr.	Senator Victor M. Torres Jr.	
Senator Tom A. Wright	<u> </u>	

Conferees on the part of the Senate

Representative Rene Plasencia, Chair	Representative Jay Trumbull, Chair
Representative Ramon Alexander, At Large	Representative Bryan Avila, At Large
Representative Colleen Burton, At Large	Representative James Bush, At Large
Representative Ben Diamond, At Large	Representative Brad Drake, At Large
Representative Bobby B. DuBose, At Large	Representative Nicholas X. Duran, At Large
Representative Anna V. Eskamani, At Large	Representative Randy Fine, At Large
Representative Joseph Geller, At Large	Representative Erin Grall, At Large
Representative Michael Grant, At Large	Representative Michael Grieco
Representative Fred Hawkins	Representative Blaise Ingoglia, At Large
Representative Evan Jenne, At Large	Representative Dotie Joseph
Representative Chris Latvala, At Large	Representative Thomas J. Leek, At Large
Representative Patt Maney	Representative Amber Mariano
Representative Ralph E. Massullo, MD, At Large	Representative Lawrence McClure, At Large
Representative Travaris L. McCurdy	Representative Angela Nixon
Representative Anika Tene Omphroy, At Large	Representative Bobby Payne, At Large
Representative Daniel Perez, At Large	Representative Scott Plakon, At Large
Representative Paul Renner, At Large	Representative Alex Rizo
Representative Anthony Rodriguez	Representative Bob Rommel
Representative Rick Roth, At Large	Representative Jason Shoaf

The Honorable Wilton Simpson The Honorable Chris Sprowls April 27, 2021 Page 5

Representative Emily Slosberg, At Large	Representative Cyndi Stevenson, At Large
Representative Geraldine F. Thompson	Representative Josie Tomkow, At Large
Representative Kaylee Tuck	Representative Matt Willhite, At Large
Representative Patricia H. Williams, At Large	Representative Jayer Williamson, At Large
Representative Ardian Zika	_

Managers on the part of the House of Representatives

SUMMARY OF CONFERENCE COMMITTEE ACTION

April 27, 2021

The Conference Committee Amendment for HB 5601, relating to higher education, provides for the following:

Section 1 conforming language.

Section 2 amends s. 1004.6495, F.S., to authorize Florida Postsecondary Comprehensive Transition Program grants as provided in the GAA.

Section 3 conforming language.

Section 4 amends s. 1009.89, F.S. to provide minimum performance standards for institutions to be eligible to participate in the program.

Section 5 repeals s. 1009.891, F.S. eliminating the Access to Better Learning and Education tuition assistance grant program.

Section 6 conforming language.

Section 7 amends s. 1012.976, F.S., to expand the existing \$200,000 faculty salary cap from state university administrative employees to include all university faculty, excluding those in specified high-demand fields.

Section 8 provides an effective date of July 1, 2021.